My San Bernardino

I’m from a land
of blood and violence
a desert
that thirst for a reprieve
from this silence
a barren wasteland
where nobody hides it-
America has failed
to acknowledge our plight and
our children are met
with eyes rolled and slight yet
every American says with a sigh
just another day in San Bernardino, right?
I come from a land forgotten
for convenience
we don’t fit your narrative
so you don’t even see us.
I gave my life
to serve the vulnerable
only to discover
I’m worth as much as my home.

Tell me what you think...

