Defining gas lighting

One, two, three,
change the science into cheats
change the dialect we speak
to benefit your needs
to liken ‘me’ to ‘we’
to cover up the seams
of dirty gas lighting.

One, two, three
make a liar outta me-
change a car into a tree,
a moth into a scream!
Tell me a woman is a man
say that I should understand
female is the science
woman is the brand.

One, two, three
keep on gas lighting
keep the fight going
until the truth is green
and the words don’t keep
our minds on things;
like guilt and sleep-
did I move that thing?
did I change the sheets?
what’s my name? What’s the week?

One, two, three, four
mind is mush forever more
the goal of gas lighting has scored
another consumer on the floor
brought to madness
brought to knees
the gas lighters only lead-
not for control
but
insanity
then they drive the victim
to ward b.

Tell me what you think...

